P.O. Box 200842
Austin, Texas 78720
(512) 619-8639
Fax (512) 372-1645

Oprima aquí para información en Español "Seguro que hablamos Español” [email protected]

Practice Areas

Our office enjoys handling a wide variety of legal matters including:

  • Commercial / Business litigation (including breach of contract).
  • Mediation services.
  • Complex multi-party litigation.
  • Business and Real Estate Disputes.
  • Construction litigation.
  • Landlord / Tenant disputes.
  • Business torts including fraud and misrepresentation.
  • Personal Injury Litigation.
  • Appellate brief writing and appellate argument.
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution.
  • Medical Malpractice (prosecution and defense).
  • Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act claims.
  • Negligence.
  • Breach of fiduciary duty.
  • Administrative Law (including representing health care professionals before boards and the State Office of Administrative Hearings “SOAH”).
  • Criminal law defense (federal court).
  • Ad valorem (property) tax disputes.
  • Insurance / Disability disputes and litigation.
  • Real estate title examination and related issues.
  • Real estate contracts and leases.
  • Foreclosures.
  • Will preparation.
  • Creditor's rights.

Testimonials and Recognitions

TESTIMONIALS

 "I had a situation with a difficult tenant that needed to be evicted.  When I called other attorneys they were quick to throw out prices for their service without even knowing any details about the service I needed.  I came across Mr. Garcia's web site and read some of the reviews he had posted and decided to give him a call and see what he could do.  He took the time to evaluate my situation and then explained in detail what he could do for me as well as what to likely expect and throughout the process he was easily accessible to answer any of my questions through e-mail or by phone.  When he mentioned his pricing it was very reasonable and he made sure to put my mind at ease that he would try to get my case resolved as quickly as possible while staying cost efficient.  True to his word, my case was resolved to my satisfaction and with minimal cost.  Thank you Mr. Garcia." -- R. Jonathan Loera, Kyle, Texas - May 27, 2010. 

"I had the good fortune to work closely with Ernest in 2007 and 2008.  As a paralegal with twelve years' experience in a variety of personal injury and business litigation environments, I can confidently whole-heartedly recommend Ernest.  He is sharp, professional, efficient, dedicated, personable, and very well respected in the legal community.  Importantly, Ernest will put your mind at ease and help you confidently navigate the legal system.  He recently assisted my husband and me in the preparation of our wills and he was very accomodating in offering us a variety of alternatives to customize the trust language to address our concerns.  It was not special treatment - I have seen it fime after time during the years I have known and worked with Ernest.  Your priorities are his priorities and he never loses sight of the goal - a positive result for each of his clients.  He is definitely the first call I would make for legal advice and assistance." -- Ms. Sammie Frazier, M.A., Austin, Texas - April 20, 2010.

"As a building contractor in the construction industry, I deal with a wide variety of owners, general contractors, subcontractors, suppliers and laborers.  Whenever I need any type of legal assistance, I retain Ernest C. Garcia.  Whether it's for a contract, a mechanic's and materialman's lien, or a title issue,  Ernest is the best lawyer to help since he works hard to effectively resolve contract disputes and construction issues in an effort to avoid unnecessary litigation.  But when the situation calls for a court or legal proceeding, Ernest is cost-conscious, results oriented and an aggressive trial attorney.  Also, I can tell you from personal experience in observing Ernest interact with other attorneys that he has a reputation for not only his knowledge of the law, but also his ability to explain it well to his clients.  Ernest is always accessible and responsive to phone calls and questions I might have, providing legal services of the highest quality.  I remain consistently and completely satisfied with Ernest's legal advice and appreciate his efficient resolution of my legal matters.  I highly recommend attorney Ernest C. Garcia." -- Simon Wallace, Austin, Texas - March 22, 2010.

"I am very pleased to have this opportunity to praise Ernest C. Garcia and his law office staff.  After being injured as a result of an auto collision, my son and a close friend each recommended that I hire Ernest as my personal injury attorney.  He evaluated my case, agreed to represent me and explained my legal rights making the legal process easy to understand.  Ernest was very compassionate and professional, alleviating my stress level.  During the process he gave my case the highest level of personal attention, and exceeded my expectations as a personal injury trial attorney in arriving at a prompt resolution of my case!  I am eternally grateful and am extremely satisfied with the outcome of my case."  -- Ms. Chavez, San Marcos, Texas.

"I have served as a banking executive in Central Texas for over 35 years and I first retained Ernest to serve as my attorney for one of my banks in 1985. It didn’t matter if Ernest worked on commercial litigation, bankruptcy issues, real estate transactions, business transactions or business disputes he always demonstrated an incomparable degree of ability and extraordinary legal competence. Notably Ernest represented us in an efficient and cost effective manner. He also always represented us with a tremendous amount of enthusiasm and diligence. Ernest C. Garcia is an excellent attorney and I would highly recommend his legal services." – Danny Clayton, Lakeway, Texas.

"Ernest served as our federal court litigation counsel regarding some complex business and legal matters. He represented our hospitals with the superior legal ability, professionalism, standards of conduct and ethics. His legal skills are exceptional and he was extremely diligent and prompt. Ernest did an outstanding job keeping us informed on the litigation process. I always look forward to working with Ernest and would greatly recommend him for his legal abilities."   -- Manuel "Manny" Vela, Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Valley Baptist Health System, Harlingen, Texas.

"If any of my family, friends or colleagues are in need of legal services, I would gladly recommend that they use attorney Ernest C. Garcia.  When I needed legal help with some business matters I selected Ernest to serve as my attorney.  Ernest distinguished himself as a consummate professional, not only with his commitment and dedication, but by providing successful results in an efficient manner.  I am glad I selected Ernest as my attorney and I am confident he would do an excellent job for anyone retaining his services."  --   Talat J. Kheshgi, M.D., Dallas, Texas (Certified Specialist by the American Board of Internal Medicine with a sub-specialty certification in Rheumatology).

 

RECOGNITIONS

In September of 1997 then Assistant United States Attorney ("AUSA") Ernest C. Garcia was one of the few AUSAs in the nation to be recognized for outstanding and superior performance as an AUSA in the prosecution and defense of cases in federal court.  Pictured is United States Attorney General Janet Reno, presenting Ernest with the U.S. Department of Justice Director's Award at the ceremony held at The Department of Justice, Great Hall in Washington, D.C.


Since 2005 Ernest has served as Chairman of the Board of the State Office of Risk Management http://www.sorm.state.tx.us   Pictured during an August 2009 Board meeting are from left to right: board members Lloyd M. Garland, M.D.of Lubbock; Ruben W. Hope, Jr. of Montgomery; Ronald J. Walenta of Dallas; Chairman Ernest C. Garcia; Kenneth N. Mitchell of El Paso and executive director Jonathan D. Bow.
 

  • Texas Department of State Health Services, Certified Emergency Medical Technician, June 2006 to June 2010.
  • Appointed Commissioner, Travis County Emergency Services District No. 14, 2006 to 2009.
  • Graduate of the Governor’s Executive Development Program through the LBJ School of Public Affairs, 2005.
  • Appointed by the President of the State Bar to serve on the Court Rules Committee of the State Bar of Texas, 2003 - 2005.
  • Certified firefigher, State Fireman's and Fire Marshal Association (SFFMA), 2005.
  • Member of the Appellate and Litigation Sections of the State Bar of Texas.
  • Appointed by the Governor to serve as a Board Member of the Automobile Theft Prevention Authority http://www.dot.state.tx.us/public_involvement/abtpa_board.htm 2002 – 2004. Served as chair of the Border Solutions Subcommittee 2003 – 2004.
  • Board Member, The Women's Advocacy Project, Inc., 2002 - 2003 (statewide non-profit organization providing legal services and education to woman and their children who have been the victims of domestic abuse and family violence).
  • Speaker at the State Bar of Texas and Texas Lawyers Care, Poverty Law 2000 Conference, Representing Battered Spouses in Custody and Visitation Matters, on qualifying, examining and cross examination of expert witnesses, Feb. 2000, Austin, TX.
  • Advisory Board Member, The Federalist Society, Austin Chapter 1999-present.
  • Speaker on “Effective Trial Techniques” at the Masters in Litigation Trial Tactics, Travis County Bar Association / Austin Young Lawyers Association seminar 1999.
  • Speaker on “New Discovery Rules A View from the Bench, Ethical Considerations,” at the Y2K / Discovery Rules Texas Association of Defense Counsel seminar, Nov. 11, 1999.
  • Awarded Internal Revenue Service Appreciation award for Outstanding Support of the South Texas District, 1999.
  • Speaker on Federal Criminal Bankruptcy Fraud Prosecution, at the Travis County Bar Association, Bankruptcy Law Section meeting, 1998.
  • Performance Recognition, U.S. Small Business Administration, El Paso, TX. Aug. 1998.
  • U.S. Department of Justice, Outstanding Performance Rating, Jan. 1998.
  • Recognition for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Houston, TX. 1997.
  • Special award recipient for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Defense, Defense Contract Audit Agency, Ft. Belvoir, VA. Dec. 1996.
  • Award for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Justice, 1996.
  • Selected attendee, 52nd Judicial Conference for the (federal) Fifth Judicial Circuit, Ft. Worth, TX. 1996.
  • President, Austin Chapter, Federal Bar Association 1995 – 1996.
  • Recognition for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, 1996.
  • Selected Committee Member, U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas, Austin Division admissions committee, 1995.
  • Treasurer, Hispanic Bar Association of Austin 1994 – 1995.
  • President elect, Austin Chapter of the Federal Bar Association 1994 – 1995.
  • Work Group Member, Travis County Community Justice Committee 1993 – 1994.
  • Award for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Justice, 1993.
  • Recognition for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Commerce, 1993.
  • Board Member, Austin Young Lawyers Association 1993 – 1994.
  • Recognition for outstanding performance, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1992.
  • Award of Excellence recipient, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Dallas, TX., 1992.
  • Successful completion of the U.S. Dept. of Justice, Executive Office, Civil Trial Advocacy Course, Aug. 1991.
  • Special Achievement Award recipient, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Dallas, TX., 1990.
  • Founding Member, Financial Institutions Legal Counsel Network, Dallas, 1989.
  • Board Member, Travis County Bar Association 1987 – 1988.
  • Board Member, Austin Young Lawyers Association 1987 – 1988.
  • Chair, Bankruptcy Law Section, Travis County Bar Association 1987 – 1988.

 

Background image courtesy of Akumar